The Dogwalker Detective

There are many things to enjoy when walking a dog. I love the freedom to go where ever I want without being told, and the unpredictability every walk can bring.

This week in California a professional dog walker was walking in the canyon underneath the famous Hollywood sign. She was probably enjoying the sun on her face, watching the dogs have a great time and was completely unaware of what was about to unfold.

During the walk the dogs discovered a human head in a plastic bag. The police were called in and more body parts were eventually found. This must have been horrific for her to witness. What were the odds of finding such a grotesque thing on her walk with her dogs?

I have had some exciting walks in our safe community over the years. Last year, while walking, I suddenly noticed police cars everywhere in my vicinity. Someone had robbed a neighbourhood store and was armed and on the loose! The local school was in lock down I was told by a mother walking on the street until the perpetrator was caught. I quickly walked faster with my heart racing, the dogs oblivious to what was occurring.

I witnessed a police officer going through the garbage and green bins on the street. She told me that she was searching for a tossed gun, or the actual person hiding in one of the containers! Holy smokes… I could not believe it. A swat team arrived and closed off an entire block near to where I was so I bee lined it back in another direction, my pulse racing along the way!

I got word a bit later that the robber was caught hiding in a local small rise apartment building. Thank goodness!

I have often thought I could be an undercover sleuth. It would be the perfect ruse – a woman walking her dog. A modern take of Angela Lansbury’s “Murder She Wrote” TV show. My underground detective team would consist of the friendly neighborhood mailman that I see daily and the sweet senior crossing guard we all call Jake. I love coming to the four corners that he patrols. He always says hello Mam, the only person I will allow to call me that as he says it so genuinely and lets myself and the dog cross safely despite his tiny stature.

Both these men like myself have eyes on the back of our heads literally. We know when you are away -please don’t let your newspapers pile up while on vacation! It is obvious that you have been away three or four days by counting the newspapers on your porches as I walk by. Cancel if going away to protect yourselves!

On another walk I witnessed one squirrel after another going into a family’s roof through a small hole in their eaves trough. I left a note for them to see so this cosy new home would be discovered before a lot of damage took place.

I see signs for lost cats all the time and keep eyes peeled for a beloved family’s missing pet. Once I saw a sign while out dog walking for a missing lizard said to be two feet long! The description on the sign for the lost lizard said that he was green – not helping in the summer time as all the trees were green and the owner thought he would be up one. I hoped to find this needle in the haystack but no luck.

Over the years I have found dogs out on the loose by accident and was able to return them home. Please make sure your dog has current information on their collar, such as its name, and your address and phone number. A home number helps but NOT if the owner is out or at work and Fido has escaped by workmen leaving a door open or kids forgetting to close a gate. Adding your cell phone number is a fantastic tool when needing to be reached immediately.

The lesson I’ve learned from these occasions is that when you are out walking your pooch you should take in your surroundings and help out others when possible. I have stopped kids from being bullied, helped countless people needing directions and have looked out for lost pets along the way! Walking your dog is not only physical exercise, but an exercise in human compassion and helping others too!

Dogstwentyfourseven has a Facebook page, http://www.facebook.com/#!/dogstwentyfourseven. Interesting articles and links are posted every week. Please click on “Like” if you are enjoying my posts and page.

If you would like to receive my blog posts by email as soon as they are published, click on “Follow” on my main page. You will automatically receive them immediately after publication. Thank you for your support! Becky White

About dogstwentyfourseven

Becky White is a dog walker.She and her husband live in Toronto with their two daughters.Becky has been a dog lover all of her life and feels now is the right time to share her stories, experiences and adventures!
This entry was posted in Dog Walker Helping others, Dog walker Job Description, Dogs and Their Routines and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to The Dogwalker Detective

  1. Marg Cathers says:

    You are such a thoughtful and caring person, keep up the good work!
    Marg

  2. Phoebe says:

    Hi Becky,

    I love this post. Would be good in the Town Crier too.

    Great to see you this morning!

    Phoebe

Leave a Reply

