The Dog Gene

I have a theory some of us have the Dog Gene. For some, the Dog Gene shows up in childhood. For others, the Dog Gene does not develop until later in life. Mine was very obvious and appeared in childhood. There are photos of me pushing our black Spaniel Freddy in a baby carriage dressed in doll’s clothing. There was no need for a stiff doll, with only one facial emotion, when I could have a living, breathing puppy that enjoyed my company. Those photos foreshadow many more photos of me with my Grandmother’s dogs at the family cottage over the years. I definitely inherited the Dog Gene from my Grandmother.

Freddy was followed by Ben, a sweet black lab that further nurtured my Dog Gene. He was with us until shortly after my Wedding Day and has a special place in my heart having been with the family for thirteen years.

For some people the Dog Gene can appear later in life, for example, by marrying a spouse who has the gene. A suggestion by the dog lover to get a puppy or acquire an older dog could awaken a sleeping Dog Gene in their partner. For many of us, the Dog Gene starts in childhood with a family dog.

How do you know if you have it?

  • Your heart will flutter when you see a puppy, and if you get to pick one up the feeling you will experience is sheer bliss. Often, one’s voice goes up an octave similar to talking to a young baby.
  • You will speak to complete strangers with dogs or to dogs tied up outside of stores thinking they understand your every word.
  • You forward dog videos from Youtube to your Facebook or email them to friends.
  • You fret with worry when your vet leaves you waiting for results on your beloved dog and answers just can’t seem to come fast enough.
  • You know the sound a dog makes prior to vomiting and despite the wee hours of the night get up to make sure all is well.
  • You complain about the dog fur that comes with shedding but deal with it for over a decade or longer.
  • You are the people I see on my dog walks that smile as I cross the road with a very Senior Retriever and motion for me to go ahead and cross knowing this will take time.
  • You are the strangers in cars that pull up beside me, and smile looking our way, or roll down the window at a light and say ‘That is just like my dog!’ You often have a large dog sitting in your passenger seat, just like a human being.
  • You are the strangers that cried with us at an Emergency Vet years ago when our old chocolate lab had to be put down.
  • You miss your dog while on a vacation where your pooch cannot come.
  • You go on walks in the rain or in sub-zero temperatures for the sake of your dog.
  • You know the feeling of calm a dog brings you when you pat it. Research has proven those with dogs live longer, as they lower our heart rates and get us exercised.
  • You are reading my blog.

My word of advice, embrace your Dog Gene as it is truly unique!

Now I pose a question to you, my readers. When did your Dog Gene emerge?

Dogstwentyfourseven has a Facebook page, http://www.facebook.com/#!/dogstwentyfourseven. Interesting articles and links are posted every week. Please click on “Like” if you are enjoying my posts and page. I am also on twitter at Dogs247Becky

If you would like to receive my blog posts by email as soon as they are published, click on “Follow” on my main page. You will automatically receive them immediately after publication. Thank you for your support! Becky White

About dogstwentyfourseven

Becky White is a dog walker.She and her husband live in Toronto with their two daughters.Becky has been a dog lover all of her life and feels now is the right time to share her stories, experiences and adventures!
This entry was posted in Dog walker Job Description, Dogs and Other Family Pets, Two different dogs in a home, Your Dog Gene and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to The Dog Gene

  1. martha hunt says:

    Well dear cousin, there are folks with a dog gene – and then there are folks like you – I think you got a whole chromosome strand of multiple dog genes!

  2. You made me smile….I would not have it any other way.I just wish Granny was alive and we could continue to share our dog stories new and old.Glad you are enjoying the blog,a dream come true fo me!

  3. Shauna Smith says:

    You do have a serious dog gene… I think my dog gene started when I was very young.. I love dogs and animals of any type. I haven’t been able to own a dog for years as I have to live in an apartment for now. I do have two guinea pigs and I talk to them just like I talk to any other animal.. I miss having a dog tho, always been a dog girl!

    You have a lovely blog here and I found you via The hugging home…

    • Thank you for your comments.I just started writing my blog last week! I am loving the creative process and look forward to sharing more thoughts and stories in 2012.My niece had a guinea pig named Whinnie and being the animal lover I am thought she was adorable.Whinnie would make the cutest squeaking sounds when she knew a treat was coming her way lol!
      Lora has been wonderful as a mentor blogger and a new friend.I too love the Hugging Home site!

  4. betsy kendrick says:

    from my earliest memories of the first family dog “judy” & “napolean” no place I would rather be as a kid was with the dogs.. I don’t remember coming home from school excited to see my mom,eat, or play.. just wanted to see the dogs. When I meet a family it is the dogs names I remember. First I thought there was something wrong with me but it is the way God made us & you ae right we need to embrace it!! EXCELLENT BLOG!!

    • Hi Betsy,
      I am glad you could relate to this post on my blog.I certainly have the gene times ten! How did you discover my blog? I do not recognize your name. I write two posts a week so there are thirty others on the site if you are interested 🙂 Comments like yours inspire me to keep on writing! Thank you Becky

      • betsy kendrick says:

        I have a niece who has the dog gene so I googled ” dog lover inherited gene” wondering if it is inherited? and your blog was either # 1 or 2.. I am not a reader at all but I loved your post & I could have wrote it 🙂
        I have 2 rescues from the shelter and 1 pitty that someone dumped out in the desert and left for dead, it took me 3 days of sitting with her before she came to me, still working with her. Anyway, just love dogs and it breaks my heart how the shelters are filling up & most people do not care, it makes no sense to me how people turn a blind eye to the shelter. Thanks for your Blog & God Bless you! betsy

  5. Jeff Narucki says:

    I’m one of those folks that caught my dog gene later in life… from my first senior rescue.

    I had a few dogs growing up and while they were all treated good and each of us spent individual as well as family time with them, I don’t think I recognized all of the things on your list until now (within the last 4 years for sure.)

  6. CarolineKingsman says:

    You’re right about the dog gene. Mine was always there. My dad refused to let us have a dog, so as a kid I spent lots of time with Maggie – a big St. Bernard mix who belonged to the family across the street. Eventually, my mother insisted that I stop encouraging her visits because she said Maggie’s family would “sue us for alienation of affection.” Then I started to visit a sandy coloured! shepherd mix named Dougall. I would knock on his door every day to ask to take Dougall for a walk and play with him. It just never occurred to me that you couldn’t have dogs for friends, just like people. Eventually Dougall’s owner told someone that I was driving her crazy and it got back to me, so that was that. It took me until I was 16 and I used the paycheque from my first summer job to buy a Sheltie puppy who I named Geordie. I trained him myself and learned to groom him and took him to sanction matches. He was all mine, and he knew it. By the way, my dad the dog-hater fell in love with Geordie the first day he came home!!!!

  7. teece says:

    my dog gene appeared in 2008 when both of our kids went away to school. we got #1 rescue dog. then a few months later in 2009 #2. 2010 #3 and 2011 the day after christmas #4 arrived.
    they are all a wonderful addition to our family. they bring us much happiness and love.

  8. Fat Catz says:

    I enjoyed reading this article. I was always, and still am, a “cat person” but hubby and me decided to get a puppy 2 years ago as the kids are all grown and we are waiting for grand kids. Now we have a pack of 3 (hubby says my puppy tubes are tied) and love, Love, LOVE it. Never have we met so many nice people, neighbours, dog lovers and curious children when our zoo consisted of only cats! So…I’d say my dog genes didn’t fully develop until later in life.

    • Hi there,
      I love your reply as it rings true for so many people.Dogs are wonderful connectors for all generations 🙂 I hope you will read more of my stories,there are close to 70 I have written since Jan.2012 Have a great day with the two and four legged! Becky

  9. Cherylyn says:

    I loved this I definitely got the gene ;-}

  10. Thanks for steering me here via Twitter. Yes, I definitely have the Dog Gene! 🙂

Leave a Reply

