Who’s At The Door?

“Ronin is at the door I think,” my husband Ken said out loud as I lay comfortably very cosy in our bed early one morning before the sun was up. He gets up before I do to dress have breakfast and head to work. I am not a morning person by nature so in my dozy state thought he had incorrectly said there was a dog at our front door.

Ronin is a bouncy lovable young Boxer. I have walked him on occasion while his owners are working days or at times I would bring him to our home while they worked at night. He lives around three blocks away from us around on another street.

My family has watched him grow from a young pup to an adult before our eyes. I am always amazed at his physique muscular with incredible posture ready to spring straight upwards in play like Boxers do. It reminds me of Tigger in Winnie the Pooh bouncing along….On the flip side upon greeting me would try to lick my face or the air, feeling it was more appropriate. Every time it it has me laughing madly at him to stop or curb the enthusiasm.

One perk being a dog walker is an intense appreciation of the dogs on your arrival. Tail wagging, rubbing on my legs, a howl or an occasional canine smile .I always knew Ronin and I were “tight.” His owner affectionately calls me Auntie Bec.

Now back to the early morning surprise at our door. Ronin arrived without his owner and scratched at our door. Ken let him in and had me come down to verify our unexpected guest. Within seconds I knew it was him by the bounce and air licking of my face. I looked out the door and no sign of his owner so called his cell. Sure enough Ronin had bolted after a squirrel and he was trying to track him down for a while.

He was ecstatic his pup was safe and showed up minutes later. We were amazed he knew to head to our house and scratch on the door for assistance. A happy ending for all involved.

It has come to my attention that some readers are unaware that my photos can be enlarged by simply clicking on them. Please enjoy the pictures in a bigger size .

Dogstwentyfourseven has a Facebook page, http://www.facebook.com/#!/dogstwentyfourseven. Interesting articles and links are posted every week. Please click on “Like” if you are enjoying my posts and page. I am on twitter at Dogs247Becky

If you would like to receive my blog posts by email as soon as they are published, click on “Follow” on my main page. You will automatically receive them immediately after publication. Thank you for your support! Becky White

About dogstwentyfourseven

Becky White is a dog walker.She and her husband live in Toronto with their two daughters.Becky has been a dog lover all of her life and feels now is the right time to share her stories, experiences and adventures!
This entry was posted in Dog Running Away From Home, Dog Walker Helping others and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Who’s At The Door?

  1. Lora Rossi says:

    Great post Becky! So excited for you! Can’t wait for you to get the Facebook and twitter sharing things up cause I will do my social media thing for ya!!! Woo hoo! What a great way to start the year! Congrats! Lora

  2. htmccarty says:

    This story reminds me of one of my dogs. When I am at the park (Sherwood) on weekends with my own dogs, Sammy will often appear. She has usually come from the opposite end of the park to greet my dogs and me a have a little play! It happens so often now that her owner knows I must be there and Sammy has just gone running off to meet me! I just give her owner a call to let him know where we are in the park so he can find us. I love it when it happens! 🙂

Leave a Reply

