My 100th Post

545551_253807921385740_1717387842_n

As I sit here at the computer I cannot believe I am writing my 100th and last post for dogstwentyfourseven. This blog means so much to me and has been a labour of love. I decided that I would like to conclude my blog by briefly summing up my blogging adventure.

In December 2011 I attended a Christmas party. Great friends remained as the party wound down, and the conversation turned to dogs. I told my friends that I had so many dog-related stories to tell, and one of them suggested that I should start a blog. I vaguely knew about blogs and was not convinced. My friend told me that her daughter was a successful blogger and that I should chat with her. Being an extrovert I connected with Lori Rossi the next day and was delighted to find a wonderful mentor. My daughter Emily was instrumental in helping me set up my new blog on WordPress which was foreign territory for me. She has continued to be awesome with editing and tech help for which I will be forever grateful.

In April 2012 I began to share my posts on a Facebook page that I created for my blog; I was thrilled to see followers in the United States and other countries reading and commenting on my stories. One of my favourite phrases is that “dogs are great connectors.” They instantly draw people together, whether friends or strangers. I was so excited to see that my Facebook page, too, acted as a connector – allowing dog enthusiasts to connect worldwide. I never expected my blog to be read in twenty-eight countries in under two years. It has received 32,809 views and 457 people have commented on posts that have touched them.

205349_260412657391933_1190436227_n

I have really enjoyed the creative writing process and would constantly get ideas running through my head for future posts. The fun part was seeing which topics were of interest to, or touched dog lover’s emotions after publishing them.

One post about Golden Retrievers received over five hundred views in under twenty-four hours; the majority of this energy was in the United States. With the city tracking feature on Word Press I watched as it spread from state to state, from one Golden lover to another.

The internet was a wealth of information when finding interesting dog people to write about. One of the best things I found was a blog about Clive and Murray.

I loved interviewing other dog lovers about their lives. A local friend of mine fostered a guide dog puppy and it was incredible speaking with her about her family’s experience. Fostering a guide dog puppy takes a special type of person.

I have written about very magical moments, too, for example about dogs and seniors and dog siblings reuniting.

The blog has seen my through the addition of a second dog to our family, which has been such a blessing. Ember is a senior dog who we adopted, and she has added double the love to our family. We can’t imagine being without her. The process of adopting Ember inspired me to write about the joys of adopting senior dogs, a cause that is now dear to my heart.

Having been a dog walker for many years I have sadly said goodbye to half a dozen canine pals as they were in their golden years or tragically succumbed to cancers/serious illnesses far too young. I have covered grief and losing a dog in a number of posts. However, being around dogs 24/7 gives me plenty of funny things to write about, such as canine love and dog names.Dog tricks, habits and quirks were great things to write about, as were children and dogs.

Rescue dogs became of interest to me while writing my blog; I covered some heartwarming stories of local dogs finding forever homes. It was also inspirational writing about dogs with special needs. It was so interesting writing about how they adapted and people’s reactions to them.

I have covered veterinary care in a variety of posts. Although we are all well aware of the importance of regular veterinary care, dog ownership often entails accidents and spontaneous vet bills. In these circumstances the emotional side of loving our dogs becomes even more evident.

302773_290438991055966_399798877_n

I have decided to continue with connecting with other dog lovers on Facebook and on Twitter. My blog will remain up for others to discover. I dream of rolling my most popular posts from this blog into a book one day and writing some children stories with dogs as the main characters. My father has Parkinson’s disease and dementia and I am carving out some time to be supportive to both of my parents who have lovingly given me so much.
As a final thought I want to encourage my readers to step outside their comfort zones; you might be just as pleasantly surprised as I have been by starting a blog etc. With dogs being great connectors you are off to a running start!

Thank you for your support and encouragement along the way, with much appreciation Becky White.

About dogstwentyfourseven

Becky White is a dog walker.She and her husband live in Toronto with their two daughters.Becky has been a dog lover all of her life and feels now is the right time to share her stories, experiences and adventures!
This entry was posted in Adding a Second Dog to Your Home, Death of a dog, Dog and Owner Pet Peeves, Dog Blogs, Dog Names, Dog Siblings Reuniting, Dog Tricks, Dog walker Job Description, Dog with Special Needs, Dogs and Their Routines, Golden Retrievers, Guide Dogs, Rescue Dog, Senior Dogs, Shelter Dogs, Sick Dogs, The Vet, Your Dog Gene, Your Dog's Love Interest/Type and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to My 100th Post

  1. Marg Evans says:

    What a joy your blog has been, Becky. Marg and I are happy on Balliol but miss seeing you and your dog friends around Glenvale.
    Thank you for the gift of your blog and I look forward to the book! Marg Evans

  2. Deb H. says:

    Just wanted to say thank you for the time you’ve put into your blog in the past few years. I get email notifications on a few different blogs, and yours was always the one I really looked forward to reading. I’ve loved everything you wrote and will miss reading your works. You touched so eloquently on a lot of the things I’ve felt; thank you for the “connection”.

  3. Thank you so much for your beautiful stories. I joined a little late in the game, but have really enjoyed your posts, and I am glad that I will still be able to keep up with you on Twitter. Much health and happiness to you and your family . . . and to all the wonderful dogs in your life!

    • Thank you for your nice comments :) There are 100 stories on my blog, feel free to go back and check out ones missed :) I am leaving it up for dog lovers to keep discovering.Best Wishes your way Becky

  4. Ken White says:

    I am so proud of my sweetie and the joy this blog has brought her and those who have followed her stories and shared her love of dogs.

  5. Isa says:

    “If you love dogs then you probably love the many ways they can show emotion. One of those emotions that certain dogs show
    is being guilty. Here is an online compilation of some of the most guilty dogs that you will ever see. With faces like those, you
    can’t stay mad at them for long. http://ow.ly/pABAs

  6. Congrat’s on your 100th post!! Very exciting.

  7. As I start my blog today I have to say congratulations on your 100th story! I look forward to going back to the beginning and having a read :-) Woofs Suzi

  8. John Martin says:

    After reading this post, I have became fan of your blog. I am looking forward to get more information from you. Thank you.

Leave a Reply

